img_20161007_184331

This is my childhood favourite. Each time I go to Prague I must order this dish.

This is how I make it at home.

700 get pork shoulder with some fat on

2 cloves of garlic (crushed)

salt and pepper

1 tsp ground cummin

25g butter

oil for browning

1 onion chopped

I rub the garlic all over the meat, season it with salt and pepper and ground cummin.

I brown the meat in hot oil on all sides. And place it in a tray with the onion in the preheated oven at 140 degrees Celsius for about 3h with little bit of water, basting it every now and then to keep the meat moist.

Serve with bread dumplings and cabbage.

Sweet and sour cabbage

1/2 head of white cabbage sliced very thin

1/2 onion sliced thin

2dl water

salt 

3 tbsp sugar

2 tbsp of vinegar

1/2 tsp whole cummin

 

oil for frying

Put some oil in a pot and add cabbage and onion fry it for a few minutes without it browning, add water and let it simmer until almost tender, add  the rest of ingredients anD simmer a bit more. Taste it to get the right balance of sweet and sour by adding sugar, salt or vinegar depending on needs.

Serve warm.

 

