Tags

, , , ,

islske

Yet another Czech Christmas cookie, I got this recipe from our neighbour, when I was like 10 yrs old and lived in a small village in Prague, she lived on the other side of the street, she was an older lady with amazing baking and cooking skills, I have spent so much time at her house, helping her out with baking and tasting everything….

She had a cherry tree in the garden and in the summer I helped her pick the cherries from it, I climbed up in the tree just with a basket and a hook for it, and cleared branch by branch ….easy when you are a kid!

I also got a puppy from her when I was 8 yrs old, the best dog I ever had! My love, my companion, my best friend! Never forget her….her name was Tapinka.

Almond Baskets

Ingredients:
200g flour
100g butter
60 grams grated peeled almonds
50g icing sugar
2 egg yolks

Filling:
120g butter
100g icing sugar
1 egg
1 tbsp. rum

50g dark chocolate 70%

Preparation method:
1. Mix all the ingredients for the dough and form it into a ball, place in a plastic bag and let it cool down in the fridge for 1.
2. Use aluminum forms, butter each of them so that the dough does not stick to it.
3. Make small balls of the rested dough and put in each form, press it out to fill the whole basket evenly.
4. Bake in the oven at 200 degrees for about 10 minutes, when the edges start to look golden.
5. Let it cool down and take it of the forms .
6. In the meantime prepare the filling, mix together butter and icing sugar carefully without curdling it.
7. Add the egg and rum and carefully continue mixing until it has become a smooth cream.
8. When the baskets have cooled down fill them with the butter cream filling and dip in chocolate while it is as cold as possible, and place half an almond on each of them before it hardens.
9. Store in the fridge until serving.

