Tags

, , ,

20141024_133040

I made this cake for my work colleagues on Friday. It was highly appreciated…which is great! I really like this cake….and if you like coconut…this is the cake for you!

Ingredients:
350 g flour
200 g butter
2 tbsps cocoa
150 g icing sugar
3 tbsps milk,
2 tsps baking powder

Coconut filling:
6 egg whites
100 g icing sugar
250 g grated coconut

Cream filling:
6 egg yolks
3-4 tbsps flour
400 ml milk
50 g icing sugar
200 g softened butter

Decoration:
50g chocolate
Preparation Method:
Pre-heat your oven to 180 degrees Celsius.
In a bowl add flour, baking powder, pc of butter, cocoa, icing sugar and milk. Form this into a dough and place in the fridge to cool
In the meantime prepare your coconut filling.
Whip hard snow out of your egg whites slowly adding icing sugar, this can take a while to whip into a hard peaks but be patient, when whipped fold in your coconut.
Take a baking tray and cover it with a baking paper, take your dough out of the fridge grate half of it on the baking paper, spread your coconut filling over and grate the other half of the dough on top.

Place it in the oven and bake for 25-30 minutes.
In the meantime prepare your cream filling.
In a pot mix egg yolks, flour, milk and sugar, bring it to a boil. By then it will be quite thick, take it off the heat and let it cool down.
When your cake has been cooled down as well, spread your cream filling on top and sprinkle over your melted chocolate. (Normally I chop my chocolate into smaller pcs and put it in a plastic bag, I heat some water up and pour it in a cup I place my plastic bag with chocolate in it and let it sit there until it had melted, then I cut a little hole in the corner of the bag and use it as a piping bag to decorate my cake.)

